Walt Whitman

Karen Bowers

Civil War Picture Analysis Paper

History 1700-020

I chose the picture of Walt Whitman, he is one of my favorite poets, and journalists. I have never seen a picture of him today, I expected something totally different, but this is how an average man looked like, I see someone with a lot of life experience, a southerner, which if he was a southerner, then he would have been around the areas of where the war was taking place. He doesn’t look very happy that his picture was being taken, he has a scowl on his face, but, maybe that has something to do with his experiences, maybe he wasn’t happy in that particular time, because of the war going on. I do not know if he participated in the war at all. He writes about war in his poetry, but, I do not know if this was from being a soldier, or just from being in the cities that the war took place in.

When I think of Walt Whitman I think of his most famous piece of poetry which is “Oh, Captain, My Captain”, which is one of my favorite pieces of poetry. I’ve read a great deal amount of his work, and some of his work just by reading them you could tell that they were about the Civil War, and what was going on in the different cities where the war took place “Beat! Beat! Drums!” this poem is from Walt Whitman, “Over the traffic of cities — over the rumble of wheels in the streets;” this is a direct quote from that poem. Even though the whole poem paints a very vivid picture this line out of the poem is the vivid of the whole poem. When I read that line, I was like wow, the towns people could hear the drums and the soldiers coming, I did not know that war was that close to civilian life.

“A Sight in Camp” was also a poem I have read, “Three forms I see on stretchers lying, brought out there, untended lying, Over each the blanket spread, ample brownish woollen blanket,Grey and heavy blanket, folding, covering all.” This is another one of Walt Whitman’s poem’s, and just shows why he is one of the greatest poets of all times. He was a billiant man, and he did very brilliant pieces of work. He still shows people to this day and age, what it was like during the civil war time period with all of the pieces of art work he did.

References: Poems Beat! Beat! Drums! The Sight In Camp all came from this website http://www.internal.org/Walt_Whitman

About bowers1220

I am only doing this for a school project. I do not like blogs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

